Ten Things

Today I’m participating in the blog hop initiated by Carole at carole knits Please feel free to join us by posting your own “10 Things” on today’s theme!

Ten Things I Miss When I’m Away From Home:

pillows-1031079_6401. My own bed! You never sleep quite as well when you’re at a hotel or Bed & Breakfast.

2. My pillow. Hotel mattresses may be half decent, but their pillows are no match for my own. Unfortunately, it’s not always convenient to take mine along.

3. The people I live with. If one or more aren’t traveling with me, I miss my husband, my daughter and my son.

IMG_20151225_101150 4. My dog. He may be the hardest one to leave because you can’t communicate with him the same way you can with people. He sees the suitcase come out and knows that he’s not going to like what happens next. Those big brown eyes are quite good at guilt tripping a person!

5. Regular eating habits. I almost always gain weight when I go away, largely because it’s harder to control my diet. If the hotel includes breakfast, I tend to eat more than I would at home, and lunches and dinners out are usually higher calorie than those you would make yourself. And as someone said to me recently, for some reason you seem to be hungrier when you travel!

6. What’s going on in the world. I miss it in the sense that I’m less aware of what’s happening in the news. Since most news isn’t good anyway, I don’t really miss it, if you know what I mean.

athletic sue7. Regular exercise. I don’t tend to use hotel fitness rooms and I’m not walking the dog, so I’m not necessarily moving as much as I should be. Especially on days when you’re driving and not out there sight-seeing.

8. My home. Be it ever so humble, it’s true: there’s no place like home. That being said, I do enjoy any break I can get. I don’t know if that housework is ever going to disappear!

9. Routines. I’ve already referenced eating, exercise and sleep, but I also miss writing, even though I’m not as consistent with it as I’d like to be. And I miss my paycheck (I don’t get paid when I don’t work). Yes, there’s vacation pay, but believe me you notice a big difference when you have a few shifts off.

10. My country. Whenever I leave Canada, and so far it’s only been for the U.S. and once to the U.K., I’m always so glad to get back. Even if I’ve had a wonderful time away and met especially delightful people, there’s just nothing like being on the soil you grew up on. I love it here!

canada-55981_640

 

I try to reply to every comment!

